Snowed in with more on the way…

IMG_2060

Well! The new Facebook group Colonial American Foodways now has over 150 members, several of whom are historical interpreters, some of them professional. We’ve had some lovely discussions and shared a lot of information. Seems like this was a niche just waiting to be filled.

I’ve also confirmed that I will be giving a talk on edible garden weeds at my local library branch next month. Several of the plants I’ll be featuring were known – and in some cases intentionally introduced – by colonists as food and medicine.

Last weekend I attended another hearth cooking class at Historic Deerfield, this one featuring recipes by Hannah Glasse. On the day’s menu: Pounded Cheese, Brown Chicken Fricassee, Red Cabbage in the Dutch Style, Norfolk Dumplings, and Indian Pudding.

Lastly, had my birthday dinner with my beloved husband at Newport’s White Horse Tavern, the oldest continually operated tavern in the United States (since 1673). The chef is a friend; we are still talking about the Brussels sprouts. No kidding.

Lastly, this morning I’m experimenting with our woodstove. I’ve never really tried to use it for cooking. Going to see if I can get the stove hot enough to cook a pot of beans all day without making the house unbearably warm. We shall see….

 

Leave a Reply

